“ABCs OF DEATH 2” selects top 12 “M” contest entries


The ABCs OF DEATH 2 contest is down to the final 12! Producers Ant Timpson and Tim League and Magnet Releasing have announced the finalists in the anthology’s filmmaker competition to fill the “M” slot.

“The sequel’s ‘Search for the 26th Director’ had three times the number of entries submitted to the first film’s contest,” Timpson says. “Narrowing our selections down to six proved immensely difficult, given the massive number of absolutely incredible films submitted.”

The contest for the coveted “M” slot in ABCs OF DEATH 2 attracted 541 entries from around the globe, with over 27 hours of material to be viewed by the judges, which included FANGORIA’s own Michael Gingold. The finalists, decided 50/50 via jury selection and public vote, are Dante Vescio and Rodrigo Gasparini’s “M is for Mailbox,” Summer Johnson’s “M is for Make Believe,” Steve Daniels’ “M is for Marauder,” Robert Boocheck’s “M is for Masticate,” Sean Tretta’s “M is for Matchmaker,” Wolfgang Matzl’s “M is for Meat,” BC Glassberg’s “M is for Mind Meld,” Álvaro Núñez’s “M is for Miracle,” Antonio Padovan’s “M is for Misdirection,” Mia’Kate Russell’s “M is for Muff,” Santi González’s “M is for Multiverse Apathy” and Jason Koch and Clint Kelly’s “M is for Munging.” All 12 be viewed here, and will be screened for free at Alamo Drafthouse locations on December 15. Subsequently, one of the entries will be selected as the winner by the other contributors to ABCs OF DEATH 2, earning the grand prize of $5,000 cash and the official “M” slot.

“Being a part of the original ABCs OF DEATH was the proudest and most important moment of my life,” says director Lee Hardcastle, whose innovative stop-motion entry “T is for Toilet” won the first film’s “Search for the 26th Director.” “Winning the competition was a dream come true and got my video in front of all the right people. I’ve since become great friends with many of the ABCs crew, and even collaborated with some of them on my own personal projects.”

The winning entry will go alongside shorts from a variety of international filmmakers with varied backgrounds, including Vincenzo Natali, Larry Fessenden, The Soska Sisters, Sion Sono, Álex de la Iglesia, Bill Plympton and E.L. Katz. Magnet plans a 2014 release of the film, whose associate producers include Todd Brown, Marc Walkow, Mitch Davis and Ted Geoghegan.

Related Articles
About the author
Ken W. Hanley
Ken W. Hanley is the Managing Web Editor for FANGORIA and STARLOG, as well as the former Web Editor for Diabolique Magazine and a contributing writer to YouWonCannes.com. He’s a graduate from Montclair State University, where he received an award for Excellence in Screenwriting. He’s currently working on screenplays, his debut novel "THE I IN EVIL", and various other projects, and can be followed on Twitter: @movieguyiguess.
Back to Top