“MANBORG” Director and More added to “ABCs OF DEATH 2”; Director Competition Announced

Returning to again present you with 26 alphabetically-inclined shorts across the spectrum of the horrifying and bizarre, THE ABCs OF DEATH 2 has revealed its full, showstopping slate of filmmakers, as well as information on how you can join them.

Joining the likes of Álex de la Iglesia, Sion Sono, Vincenzo Natali, Larry Fessenden, Jen & Sylvia Soska, VANISHING WAVES’ Kristina Buozyte & Bruno Samper, the mad geniuses behind INSIDE and more, are the newly announced Steve Kostanski (MANBORG), THE MIGHTY BOOSH’s Julian Barratt, Todd Rohal (THE CATECHISM CATALYSM), Alejandro Brugués (JUAN OF THE DEAD), Jim Hosking, Hajime Ohata (HENGE) and Chris Nash of the ultra-gross series of shorts SKINFECTIONS.

This brings the full roster to the below:

Álex de la Iglesia (THE LAST CIRCUS, DAY OF THE BEAST), ROOM 237 mastermind Rodney Ascher, Academy Award-nominated animator Bill Plympton; Filipino icon – and Director’s Fortnight inductee – Erik Matti (ON THE JOB, MAGIC TEMPLE), Lithuania’s Kristina Buozyte and Bruno Samper (VANISHING WAVES), Japan’s arthouse provocateur Sion Sono (COLD FISH, SUICIDE CLUB), SPLICE and CUBE’s Vincenzo Natali, indie horror icon Larry Fessenden (THE LAST WINTER, HABIT), THE COLLECTION’s Marcus Dunstan, France’s Julien Maury and Alexandre Bustillo (INSIDE, LIVID), E.L. Katz (director of the SXSW breakout hit CHEAP THRILLS), twin auteurs Jen and Sylvia Soska (AMERICAN MARY, DEAD HOOKER IN A TRUNK), Israel’s Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado (RABIES, BIG BAD WOLVES), A LONELY PLACE TO DIE’s Julian Gilbey, Brazil’s most controversial filmmaker Dennison Ramalho (NINJAS and LOVE FOR MOTHER ONLY), the founder of Nigerian “Nollywood” cinema Lancelot Imasuen, THE LEGEND OF BEAVER DAM and the upcoming STAGEFRIGHT’s Jerome Sable, animator Robert Morgan – creator of the BAFTA Award nominated short BOBBY YEAH, Steve Kostanski, Julian Barratt, Todd Rohal, Alejandro Brugués, Jim Hosking, Hajime Ohata, Chris Nash and ?.

That question mark refers to the eventual winner of the second 26th Director Competition, memorably won last year by English animator Lee Hardcastle and his claymation “T for Toilet.” This year, contestants are assigned the letter, “M” and encouraged to have three minutes or under short film in by October 31, 2013. For the second go-round, twelve entries will be chosen as finalists, six by public vote and six by a panel that includes ABCs OF DEATH producers Tim League and Ant Timpson, Associate Producer Ted Geoghegan, Horror-Movie-A-Day Founder and Badass Digest contributor Brian Collins, Entertainment Weekly Senior Editor Clark Collis, author Grady Hendrix, and our very own Fangoria Managing Editor Michael Gingold.

For a full list of rules and guidelines, visit the official site of The Search for the 26th Director. Tell me below, who you’re most excited to see an ABCs short from? It’s surely an incredible roster.

Related Articles
About the author
Samuel Zimmerman
Fangoria.com Managing Editor Samuel Zimmerman has been at FANGORIA since 2009, where fresh out of the Purchase College Cinema Studies program, he began as an editorial assistant. Since, he’s honed both his writing and karaoke skills and been trusted with the responsibility of jury duty at Austin’s incredible Fantastic Fest. Zimmerman lives in and hails from The Bronx, New York where his pants are too tight and he’ll watch anything with witches.
Back to Top